Back to Back Winners Crowned in New Zealand and The Philippines

This past weekend saw qualifiers for the Red Bull Pump Track World Championship take place in both Wellington, New Zealand and Manila, The Philippines. With 3 stops now complete, the world final is already shaping up to be an epic showdown as grass roots talent take on the best from the world.

The Velosolutions track in Wellington played host to the New Zealand qualifier and as the clouds rolled in later in the day it lived up to its nickname “Windy Wellington”. Riders were not put off by the weather and laid it all on the line for their chance to secure a spot at the world final.

Seeding runs gave the riders the chance to assess the competition before the rain came in. The track soon dried and riders were able to commit to hitting turns as fast as possible knowing they had all the grip they needed on the asphalt surface. The knock out heats pushed the rider’s stamina and whilst Connor Mahuika posted the fastest time on the day, Billy Meaclem proved he had the race craft to take the overall win and claim his ticket to the final.

In the women’s category a late in influx of registered riders on the day would make this a battle to the finish line. Rising star and Junior World Number 2, Shania Rawson was unstoppable on the day and took the win ahead of Caitlin Georgantas.

As the sun set in on the North Island of New Zealand, racing kicked in to action at the Bike Playground in Manila, The Philippines with the unique indoor track giving riders a welcomed break from the 30-degree heat.

Downhill, BMX, Enduro and XC riders from The Philippines, Japan and Malaysia gathered to battle it out against the clock and each other.

The timed runs were won by Jericho Farr and Lea Denise Belgica both members of the national DH Team but in a twist Lea Denise opted to take on the track with a BMX as her weapon of choice.

With 3 full laps on the technical pump track, it was more than just about the athlete’s skills, but their fitness, as the intense racing and the track length added to the excitement. In the end, the battle for the flight ticket in the men’s category would be between 2 generations. Crowd favourite, 40-year-old Parabanne Mendoza looked like he was going for the win, but some small mistakes on his 3rd lap killed his momentum, which gave 21-year-old Jericho Farr the chance to secure his 1st place.

With a race time of just under 1 minute un the women's category, it looked like XC rider Ariana would have the endurance advantage, but national DH team rider, Lea Denise manualled and jumped her way to the win and a ticket to the world final.

The Red Bull Pump Track World Championship Qualifiers continue around the world with the Wallride Bike Park in India hosting stop number 4 on the 21st of April. For the latest news, results and your chance to register to race visit


Dartmoor Pump Rock

It was an exciting competition as riders battle it out for their best times in the Dartmoor Pump Rock - Pump Track Competition.

Excitement grew as Jerich Farr sets the the first sub 50sec time at 49.89sec but was beaten by the concluded best time set on the first heat at 49.25sec by Bans Mendoza!

It was a nerve-racking 2nd heat for the Men Open as Farr beat the current best time lowering it further to 49.11sec at an average of 16sec per run. Meanwhile, youngest Men Open rider Kimi Grande went in to surprise everyone with a run that can beat the current best time but settled for a total run of 49.52sec.

All eyes on Bans Mendoza who is safe for the second spot but is not willing to let the dust settle yet. After 3 laps it was a roaring crowd happily cheering for a new record of 48.51sec giving the crown for the day to Mendoza!

Winners of the BMX Open are Nino Martin Eday who was gunning it down both for the MTB and BMX Categories and clinched the BMX Open with a time of 49.87sec. Followed by Oscar Acdol 50.642sec and Ismael Cacapit at 54.135sec.

All winners received a Dartmoor 26Player frame. The night was full of raffle prizes and give aways from Dartmoor, All Mountain Style, Staton, Peaty's, Dianese, Uvex, Melon Optics, and Klinchwear.